Bank Holidays in United Kingdom in 2017

United Kingdom List of national and regional Bank holidays of United Kingdom in 2017

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Monday January 02 Jan 2 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Monday January 02 Jan 2 New Years Day (observed) Except Scotland
Tuesday January 03 Jan 3 New Years Day (in lieu) Scotland Only
Tuesday February 28 Feb 28 Pancake Tuesday Shrove Tuesday. Not a Public Holiday
Wednesday March 01 Mar 1 St Davids Day Wales Only. Not a public holiday
Friday March 17 Mar 17 St Patricks Day Northern Ireland Only
Sunday March 26 Mar 26 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 17 Apr 17 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Sunday April 23 Apr 23 St Georges Day England Only. Not a National holiday
Monday May 01 May 1 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday May 29 May 29 Spring Bank Holiday Last Monday in May
Sunday June 18 Jun 18 Fathers Day 3rd Sunday in June. Not a public holiday
Wednesday July 12 Jul 12 Battle of the Boyne Northern Ireland Only
Monday August 07 Aug 7 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only. First Monday in August
Monday August 28 Aug 28 August Bank Holiday Last Monday in August (except Scotland)
Sunday November 05 Nov 5 Guy Fawkes Night England Only. Not a National holiday
Sunday November 12 Nov 12 Remembrance Sunday Not a public holiday. Sunday closest to 11 November
Thursday November 30 Nov 30 St Andrews Day Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page