Social

Options

Advertisements


Bank Holidays in United Kingdom in 2012

United Kingdom List of national and regional Bank holidays of United Kingdom in 2012

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 02 Jan 2 New Years Day (in lieu) First Monday if 1st is Saturday or Sunday
Tuesday January 03 Jan 3 Day after New Years Day Scotland Only
Tuesday February 21 Feb 21 Pancake Tuesday Shrove Tuesday
Thursday March 01 Mar 1 St Davids Day Wales Only. Not a public holiday.
Sunday March 18 Mar 18 Mothering Sunday Not a National Holiday
Monday March 19 Mar 19 St Patricks Day (observed) Northern Ireland Only.
Friday April 06 Apr 6 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 09 Apr 9 Easter Monday Except Scotland
Monday April 23 Apr 23 St Georges Day England Only. Not a National holiday.
Monday May 07 May 7 Early May Bank Holiday First Monday in May
Monday June 04 Jun 4 May Bank Holiday Moves to June 4 in 2012 to create long weekend for Diamond Jubilee
Tuesday June 05 Jun 5 Queens Diamond Jubilee Special Holiday
Sunday June 17 Jun 17 Father's Day Third Sunday of June. Not a National Holiday
Thursday July 12 Jul 12 Battle of the Boyne Northern Ireland Only
Monday August 06 Aug 6 August Bank Holiday Scotland Only. First Monday in August.
Monday August 27 Aug 27 August Bank Holiday in August (except Scotland)
Monday November 05 Nov 5 Guy Fawkes Night England Only. Not a National holiday.
Friday November 30 Nov 30 St Andrews Day Scotland Only. If November 30 falls on a weekend, the next Monday is a bank holiday instead.
Tuesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day Celebrated on 26th December. Typically it will be moved and celebrated on the next weekday if 26 December is a Saturday or Sunday

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Within the United Kingdom, there is no legal definition of what constitutes a public holiday in and it is debatable whether public holidays technically exist in Scotland. The term public holiday is often confused with bank holidays.
  • In England and Wales a bank holiday tends automatically to be a public holiday and the day is generally observed as a holiday. In Scotland this may not always the case.

Translate this page