Public Holidays in Zurich in 2011

Switzerland National and Regional Public holidays of Zurich in 2011

Saturday January 01 New Years Day
Sunday January 02 Berchtolds Day
Monday April 11 Sechselauten Afternoon, Zurich only
Friday April 22 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 25 Easter Monday All regions except Ticino. Monday after Easter Sunday
Sunday May 08 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday.
Thursday June 02 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Monday June 13 Whitmonday All regions except Valais. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Monday August 01 National Day Bundesfeier
Sunday September 18 Swiss Federal Fast All regions except Geneva. Third Sunday in September
Monday September 19 Knabenschiessen Afternoon, Zurich only. Monday after 2nd weekend in September
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 St Stephens Day Celebrated on 26th December. Except Geneva, Jura, Neuchâtel, Valais and Vaud


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Holidays are observed on their calendar date. If the date of a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the holiday will not be moved to a weekday.

Translate this page