Public Holidays in Bern in 2016

Bern Upcoming Public Holidays in Bern

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 60 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

St Stephens Day
St Stephens Day

26 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 61 days. The second day of Christmas is known as Boxing Day or St. Stephens Day. St Stephen was...

New Years Day
New Years Day

1 January 2017 This National holiday is in 67 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

Switzerland National and Regional Public holidays of Bern in 2016

Friday January 01 New Years Day Neujahrstag
Saturday January 02 Berchtolds Day Aargau, Bern, Fribourg, Glarus, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchâtel, Obwalden, Schaffhausen, Solothurn, Thurgau, Vaud, Zug, Zurich
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday March 28 Easter Monday All regions except Ticino. Monday after Easter Sunday
Thursday May 05 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Sunday May 08 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 16 Whit Monday All regions except Valais. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Sunday June 05 Fathers Day 1st Sunday in June
Monday August 01 National Day Bundesfeier
Sunday September 18 Swiss Federal Fast All regions except Geneva. Third Sunday in September
Monday September 19 Bettagsmontag Bern, Neuchâtel, Vaud. Monday after 3rd Sunday in September
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 St Stephens Day Celebrated on 26th December. Except Geneva, Jura, Neuch


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Holidays are observed on their calendar date. If the date of a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the holiday will not be moved to a weekday.

Translate this page