Key Regions

Other Regions


Public Holidays in Switzerland in 2011

Switzerland National public holidays of Switzerland in 2011

Saturday January 01 New Years Day
Sunday January 02 Berchtolds Day
Saturday March 19 St Josephs Day Graubünden, Lucerne, Nidwalden, Schwyz, Solothurn, Ticino, Uri, Valais only
Monday April 11 Sechselauten Afternoon, Zurich only
Friday April 22 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 25 Easter Monday All regions except Ticino. Monday after Easter Sunday
Sunday May 08 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday.
Thursday June 02 Ascension Day 40 days after Easter
Monday June 13 Whitmonday All regions except Valais. Also Known as Pentecost Monday
Wednesday June 29 Saint Peter and Saint Paul Graubünden, Ticino only
Monday August 01 National Day Bundesfeier
Monday August 15 Assumption Day Aargau, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Fribourg, Jura, Lucerne, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Zug only
Sunday September 18 Swiss Federal Fast All regions except Geneva. Third Sunday in September
Monday September 19 Jeûne genevois Geneva only. Monday after 3rd Sunday in Sept
Monday September 19 Knabenschiessen Afternoon, Zurich only. Monday after 2nd weekend in September
Thursday December 08 Immaculate Conception Day Regional Holiday
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 St Stephens Day Celebrated on 26th December. Except Geneva, Jura, Neuchâtel, Valais and Vaud
Saturday December 31 Restoration Day Geneva only


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Holidays are observed on their calendar date. If the date of a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the holiday will not be moved to a weekday.

Other Years

Translate this page