Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Madrid in 2017

Public Holidays in Madrid Upcoming Public Holidays in Madrid

All Saints Day
All Saints Day

1 November 2017 This National holiday is in 14 days. Pope Boniface IV dedicated the day as a holiday to honour the Blessed Virgin Mary and a...

Our Lady of the Almudena
Our Lady of the Almudena

9 November 2017 This Regional holiday is in 22 days. Celebrates the discovery of a lost statue in the Cathedral after occupation by the Moors.

Constitution Day
Constitution Day

6 December 2017 This National holiday is in 49 days. Constitution day is therefore a celebration of the day Spain became a democracy

Madrid, Spain National and Regional Public holidays of Madrid, Spain in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Friday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a regional holiday in all regions
Sunday March 19 Mar 19 Father's Day Celebrated on St. Joseph' s day
Monday March 20 Mar 20 St Josephs Day Holiday Extremadura, Madrid only
Thursday April 13 Apr 13 Maundy Thursday except Catalonia
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Tuesday May 02 May 2 Community Festival of Madrid Madrid only. Marks a rebellion against the French during the War of Independence
Sunday May 07 May 7 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 15 May 15 Feast of St. Isidro City of Madrid only. Patron Saint of Madrid
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Thursday October 12 Oct 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Wednesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day
Thursday November 09 Nov 9 Our Lady of the Almudena City of Madrid Only
Wednesday December 06 Dec 6 Constitution Day
Friday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.


Translate this page