Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Madrid in 2016

Public Holidays in Madrid Upcoming Public Holidays in Madrid

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 15 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

Christmas Holiday
Christmas Holiday

26 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 16 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

New Year's Holiday
New Year's Holiday

2 January 2017 This Regional holiday is in 23 days. New Years Day is a public holiday in all countries that observe the Gregorian calendar,...

madrid, Spain National and Regional Public holidays of Madrid, Spain in 2016

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Wednesday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a regional holiday in all regions
Saturday March 19 Mar 19 Father's Day Celebrated on St. Joseph' s day
Thursday March 24 Mar 24 Maundy Thursday except Catalonia
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Sunday May 01 May 1 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday May 02 May 2 Community Festival of Madrid Madrid only. Marks a rebellion against the French during the War of Independence
Sunday May 15 May 15 Feast of St. Isidro Madrid only. Patron Saint of Madrid
Monday July 25 Jul 25 St James Day Feast day of St. James, patron saint of Spain
Monday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Wednesday October 12 Oct 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Tuesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day
Tuesday December 06 Dec 6 Constitution Day
Thursday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Dec 26 Christmas Holiday in lieu of Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.


Translate this page