Public Holidays in Spain in 2011

Spain List of National Public holidays of Spain in 2011

Day Date Holiday Comments
Saturday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Thursday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a "regional" holiday in all regions.
Monday February 28 Feb 28 Andalucía Day Andalucia only. Became an autonomous community of Spain on 28 February 1980
Tuesday March 01 Mar 1 Balearic Islands
Friday April 22 Apr 22 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday May 01 May 1 Mother's Day 1st Sunday in May. Not a public holiday.
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Tuesday May 03 May 3 Madrid Regional only
Tuesday May 31 May 31 Canary Islands The first session of the autonomous Canary Islands Parliament was May 30, 1983.
Tuesday May 31 May 31 Castilla-La Mancha
Thursday June 09 Jun 9 La Rioja Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Thursday June 09 Jun 9 Murcia Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Monday July 25 Jul 25 St James Day Feast day of St. James, patron saint of Spain.
Monday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Friday September 02 Sep 2 Ceuta Day
Thursday September 08 Sep 8 Asturias
Thursday September 08 Sep 8 Extremadura Celebrated on the birthday of the Virgin Mary
Sunday September 11 Sep 11 National Day of Catalonia marks the anniversary of the recapture of Barcelona in 1714
Sunday October 09 Oct 9 Valencian Community Day Anniversary of King James I of Aragons capture of the city from the Moors in 1238
Wednesday October 12 Oct 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Tuesday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day
Wednesday November 09 Nov 9 Our Lady of the Almudena Madrid Only.
Tuesday December 06 Dec 6 Constitution Day
Thursday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 26 Dec 26 Christmas Holiday In lieu of Christmas Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.

Translate this page