Public Holidays in Spain in 2010

Spain List of National Public holidays of Spain in 2010

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Wednesday January 06 Jan 6 Epiphany Technically not a national holiday, but has been declared a "regional" holiday in all regions.
Sunday February 28 Feb 28 Andalucía Day Andalucia only. Became an autonomous community of Spain on 28 February 1980
Monday March 01 Mar 1 Balearic Islands
Friday April 02 Apr 2 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Fiesta del trabajo
Monday May 03 May 3 Madrid Regional only
Monday May 31 May 31 Canary Islands The first session of the autonomous Canary Islands Parliament was May 30, 1983.
Monday May 31 May 31 Castilla-La Mancha
Wednesday June 09 Jun 9 La Rioja Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Wednesday June 09 Jun 9 Murcia Marks the approval of the statute of the autonomous community in 1982
Sunday August 15 Aug 15 Assumption Day Assumption of Mary
Thursday September 02 Sep 2 Ceuta Day
Wednesday September 08 Sep 8 Asturias
Wednesday September 08 Sep 8 Extremadura Celebrated on the birthday of the Virgin Mary
Saturday September 11 Sep 11 National Day of Catalonia marks the anniversary of the recapture of Barcelona in 1714
Saturday October 09 Oct 9 Valencian Community Day Anniversary of King James I of Aragons capture of the city from the Moors in 1238
Tuesday October 12 Oct 12 Hispanic Day Columbus Day
Monday November 01 Nov 1 All Saints Day
Monday December 06 Dec 6 Constitution Day
Wednesday December 08 Dec 8 Immaculate Conception Day
Saturday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Monday December 27 Dec 27 Christmas Holiday In lieu of Christmas Day


National Holiday Regional Holiday


  • Public holidays are taken on the day they fall and not moved to the following weekend, if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
  • Each municipality has a maximum of 13 public holidays a year; up to nine holidays are set by the national government and at least two are chosen locally.
  • The list of regional holidays changes every year, partly because of national holidays falling on Sundays.

Translate this page