Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in South Africa in 2016

South Africa Upcoming Public Holidays in South Africa

Heritage Day
Heritage Day

24 September 2016 This National holiday is in 27 days. The intention of this holiday is for all South Africans to celebrate their heritage

Day of Reconciliation
Day of Reconciliation

16 December 2016 This National holiday is in 110 days. The Day of Reconciliation aims to to foster reconciliation between different racial gro...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 119 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

South Africa List of National Public holidays of South Africa in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Friday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Monday March 21 Mar 21 Human Rights Day
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Good Friday Catholic or protestant
Monday March 28 Mar 28 Family Day Easter Monday
Wednesday April 27 Apr 27 Freedom Day National Day. April 27
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day Workers Day
Monday May 02 May 2 Public Holiday Observed as holiday as Workers Day is on Sunday
Thursday June 16 Jun 16 Youth Day Previously known as Soweto Day
Wednesday August 03 Aug 3 Public Holiday For municipal elections
Tuesday August 09 Aug 9 National Womens Day
Saturday September 24 Sep 24 Heritage Day
Friday December 16 Dec 16 Day of Reconciliation
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Catholic or protestant
Monday December 26 Dec 26 Day of Good Will Boxing Day prior to 1980

Key

National Holiday

Notes

  • The South African Public Holidays Act (Act No 36 of 1994) determines that whenever any public holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday following it will be a public holiday.

Public Holiday News

Translate this page