Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in New Zealand in 2018

New Zealand List of National Public holidays of New Zealand in 2018

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday January 01 Jan 1 New Year's Day
Tuesday January 02 Jan 2 Day after New Years Day
Monday January 22 Jan 22 Wellington Anniversary Day Monday closest to 22 January
Monday January 29 Jan 29 Auckland Anniversary Day Monday nearest to January 29 (Auckland Anniversary Day)
Monday January 29 Jan 29 Nelson Anniversary Day Monday nearest to February 1
Tuesday February 06 Feb 6 Waitangi Day National Day
Monday March 12 Mar 12 Taranaki Anniversary Day Second Monday in March to avoid Easter
Monday March 26 Mar 26 Otago Anniversary Day Monday nearest to the actual day
Friday March 30 Mar 30 Good Friday The Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday April 02 Apr 2 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 03 Apr 3 Southland Anniversary Day Observed on Easter Tuesday
Wednesday April 25 Apr 25 Anzac Day
Sunday May 13 May 13 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Monday June 04 Jun 4 Queen's Birthday The first Monday in June
Sunday September 02 Sep 2 Father's Day 1st Sunday in September. Not a public holiday
Monday September 24 Sep 24 Dominion Day Fourth Monday in September
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Hawkes Bay Anniversary Day Friday before Labour Day
Monday October 22 Oct 22 Labour Day The fourth Monday in October
Monday October 29 Oct 29 Marlborough Anniversary Day First Monday after Labour Day
Friday November 16 Nov 16 Christchurch Show Day Northern and Central Canterbury. Second Friday after the first Tuesday in November
Monday December 03 Dec 3 Chatham Islands Anniversary Day Monday nearest to November 30
Monday December 03 Dec 3 Westland Anniversary Day Monday nearest to December 1 (Greymouth)
Tuesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Statutory holidays are legislated by several Acts of Parliament, particularly the Holidays Act 2003.
  • Since 2014, if ANZAC Day and Waitangi Day fall on weekend the following Monday will be a holiday.

Translate this page