Holidays in Johor in 2016

Johor Upcoming Public Holidays in Johor


29 October 2016 This Regional holiday is in 6 days. Deepavali . Celebrations revolve around the triumph of good over evil, purity over impu...

The Sultan of Johor Hol
The Sultan of Johor Hol

6 November 2016 This Regional holiday is in 14 days. Hari Hol Almarhum Sultan Iskandar

Maulidur Rasul
Maulidur Rasul

12 December 2016 This National holiday is in 50 days. Celebrated by the Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third mont...

Johor, Malaysia National and Regional Public holidays of Johor, Malaysia in 2016

Sunday January 24 Jan 24 Thaipusam Hindu festival. Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang, Selangor only
Monday February 08 Feb 8 Chinese New Year 1st day of 1st lunar month
Tuesday February 09 Feb 9 Chinese New Year Holiday 2nd day of 1st lunar Except Terengganu
Wednesday March 23 Mar 23 Birthday of the Sultan of Johor Johor only. Celebrated on 23 March from 2015
Sunday May 01 May 1 Labour Day International Workers Day
Monday May 02 May 2 Labour Day (observed)
Sunday May 08 May 8 Mother's Day 2nd Sunday in May. Not a public holiday
Sunday May 15 May 15 Public Holiday Johor only. To mark JDT's FA Cup victory
Saturday May 21 May 21 Wesak Day Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
Saturday June 04 Jun 4 Birthday of SPB Yang di Pertuan Agong Kings Birthday. 1st Saturday in June
Monday June 06 Jun 6 Beginning of Ramadan Johor, Kedah and Johor, Kedah, Malacca only
Wednesday July 06 Jul 6 Hari Raya Aidilfitri Eid Al-Fitr
Thursday July 07 Jul 7 Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday Second day of holiday for Eid Al-Fitr
Sunday July 10 Jul 10 Public Holiday Johor, Kedah, Terengganu. Public sector holiday
Wednesday August 31 Aug 31 National Day Independence Day
Monday September 12 Sep 12 Hari Raya Haji Festival of Sacrifice
Friday September 16 Sep 16 Malaysia Day Became a Federal Holiday in 2010
Sunday October 02 Oct 2 Awal Muharram Islamic New Year
Saturday October 29 Oct 29 Deepavali The festival of lights. Except Sarawak
Sunday November 06 Nov 6 The Sultan of Johor Hol Johor only. Marks the death of a state Sultan
Monday December 12 Dec 12 Maulidur Rasul
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Internationally observed Christian holiday
Monday December 26 Dec 26 Christmas Day (observed)


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • National holidays are normally observed by most governmental and private organizations.
  • State holidays are normally observed by certain states in Malaysia or when it is relevant to the state itself.
  • The main holy days of each major religion are public holidays, taking place on either the western calendar or religious ones.
  • In the states of Kedah, Kelantan, Johor and Terengganu, the weekend is Friday and Saturday. All other states observe a Saturday and Sunday weekend.

Translate this page