Public Holidays in Japan in 2013

Japan National Public holidays of Japan in 2013

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day
Monday January 14 Jan 14 Coming-of-age Day 2nd Monday of January
Monday February 11 Feb 11 National Foundation Day
Wednesday March 20 Mar 20 Vernal Equinox Day March 20 or March 21
Monday April 29 Apr 29 Showa Day Part of Golden Week
Friday May 03 May 3 Constitution Memorial Day Part of Golden Week
Saturday May 04 May 4 Greenery Day Part of Golden Week
Monday May 06 May 6 Childrens Day Part of Golden Week
Monday July 15 Jul 15 Marine Day 3rd Monday of July
Monday September 16 Sep 16 Respect for the Aged Day 3rd Monday of September
Monday September 23 Sep 23 Autumnal Equinox Day September 23 or September 24
Monday October 14 Oct 14 Health-Sports Day 2nd Monday of October
Monday November 04 Nov 4 Culture Day November 3 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Saturday November 23 Nov 23 Labour Thanksgiving Day November 23 or following Monday if it falls on a Sunday
Monday December 23 Dec 23 The Emperors Birthday In 1989, Emperor Akihito became Japan's 125th emperor.


National Holiday


  • With the exception of New Year's Day, if a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following day is treated as a holiday instead.
  • If Respect for the aged day falls on 21 September and Autumnal Equinox falls in 23 September, then 22 September is declared a holiday - creating 'Silver Week'.

Translate this page

Powered by Google