Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Israel in 2017

Israel Upcoming Public Holidays in Israel

Pentecost
Pentecost

31 May 2017 This National holiday is Tomorrow. Shavuot is one of the three Biblical pilgrimage festivals. Also known as the Feast of W...

New Year
Rosh HaShana

21 September 2017 This National holiday is in 114 days. The Jewish Holiday of Rosh Hashanah is generally known as the New Year's Day of the Jew...

New Year
Rosh HaShana

22 September 2017 This National holiday is in 115 days. Second day of Rosh Hashanah, the New Year of the Jewish calendar

Israel List of National Public holidays of Israel in 2017

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday March 12 Mar 12 Purim
Monday April 10 Apr 10 Passover (begins) Pesach
Monday April 17 Apr 17 Passover (ends) Last Day of Pesach
Tuesday May 02 May 2 Independence Day Yom HaAtzmaut
Wednesday May 24 May 24 Jerusalem Day Marks the reunification of Jerusalem after the Six-Day War
Wednesday May 31 May 31 Pentecost Shavuot
Tuesday August 01 Aug 1 Fast of Ninth of Av Commemorates the destruction of the First and Second Temples in Jerusalem
Thursday September 21 Sep 21 New Year Rosh HaShana
Friday September 22 Sep 22 New Year Rosh HaShana
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Day of Atonement Yom Kippur
Thursday October 05 Oct 5 Sukkot Feast of Tabernacles
Thursday October 12 Oct 12 Simchat Torah Celebrates the end of the annual cycle of Torah readings
Wednesday December 13 Dec 13 Chanukah The festival of Chanukah is a holiday period, but it is not a national holiday

Key

National Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the first and last days of Passover and Sukkot are national holidays, but there may be some disruption on intermediate dates; many shops and businesses may open but close early.
  • The festival of Chanukah is a holiday period, but it is not a national holiday - businesses remain open.
  • Jewish festivals always commence on the evenings before the dates given above.

Translate this page