Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Israel in 2017

Israel Upcoming Public Holidays in Israel

Passover (begins)
Pesach

10 April 2017 This National holiday is in 126 days. Passover (Pesach), is an 8 day Jewish holiday that remembers the exodus of the Israelit...

Passover (ends)
Pesach

18 April 2017 This National holiday is in 134 days. Passover (Pesach), is an 8 day Jewish holiday that remembers the exodus of the Israelit...

Independence Day
Independence Day

2 May 2017 This National holiday is in 148 days. Israeli Independence Day commemorates the declaration of independence of Israel in 1948

Israel List of National Public holidays of Israel in 2017

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday March 12 Mar 12 Purim
Monday April 10 Apr 10 Passover (begins) Pesach
Tuesday April 18 Apr 18 Passover (ends) Pesach
Tuesday May 02 May 2 Independence Day Yom HaAtzmaut
Wednesday May 24 May 24 Jerusalem Day Marks the reunification of Jerusalem after the Six-Day War
Wednesday May 31 May 31 Pentecost Shavuot
Tuesday August 01 Aug 1 Fast of Ninth of Av Commemorates the destruction of the First and Second Temples in Jerusalem
Thursday September 21 Sep 21 New Year Rosh HaShana
Friday September 22 Sep 22 New Year Rosh HaShana
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Day of Atonement Yom Kippur
Thursday October 05 Oct 5 Sukkot Feast of Tabernacles
Friday October 13 Oct 13 Simchat Torah Celebrates the end of the annual cycle of Torah readings
Wednesday December 13 Dec 13 Chanukah The festival of Chanukah is a holiday period, but it is not a national holiday

Key

National Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the first and last days of Passover and Sukkot are national holidays, but there may be some disruption on intermediate dates; many shops and businesses may open but close early.
  • The festival of Chanukah is a holiday period, but it is not a national holiday - businesses remain open.
  • Jewish festivals always commence on the evenings before the dates given above.

Translate this page