Bank Holidays in West Bengal in 2016

West Bengal Upcoming Public Holidays in West Bengal

Kali Puja
Kali Puja

29 October 2016 This Regional holiday is in 2 days. Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. A Hindu festival dedicated to the goddess Kali. Kali Puja i...

Guru Nanak Birthday
Guru Nanak Birthday

14 November 2016 This Regional holiday is in 18 days. The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 59 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

India National and Regional Public holidays of West Bengal in 2016

Tuesday January 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only.
Saturday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Tuesday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Saturday February 13 Sree Panchami West Bengal
Wednesday March 23 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Thursday April 14 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Thursday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday May 01 May Day Many states
Sunday May 08 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal. A Bengali polymath who reshaped literature and music.
Wednesday July 06 Idul Fitr Many states
Thursday July 07 Ramzan Many states
Monday August 15 Independence Day
Monday September 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Gujarat, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Sikkim.
Friday September 30 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday October 08 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Saturday October 08 Panchami West Bengal
Sunday October 09 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Monday October 10 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Tuesday October 11 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 12 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Saturday October 15 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Saturday October 29 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Monday November 14 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page