Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Uttar Pradesh in 2019

India National and Regional Public holidays of Uttar Pradesh in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Monday March 04 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday March 20 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Thursday March 21 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Thursday March 21 Holi
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 06 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Wednesday April 17 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Tuesday May 07 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh only
Sunday May 19 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday August 24 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday September 10 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Saturday September 14 Raksha Bandhan Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh only. Shravana Purnima
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 27 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Saturday November 02 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Sunday November 10 Id-e-Milad
Tuesday November 12 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page