Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Uttar Pradesh in 2017

Uttar Pradesh Upcoming Public Holidays in Uttar Pradesh

Maha Shivratri
Maha Shivratri

24 February 2017 This Regional holiday is in 2 days. According to Hindu mythology, Shivaratri symbolizes the wedding day of Lord Shiva.

Doljatra
Doljatra

12 March 2017 This Regional holiday is in 18 days. Originally a harvest and fertility festival, Holi also commemorates a legend from Hindu...

Holi
Holi

13 March 2017 This Regional holiday is in 19 days. Originally a harvest and fertility festival, Holi also commemorates a legend from Hindu...

India National and Regional Public holidays of Uttar Pradesh in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Sunday March 12 Doljatra Holi Dahan. Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal.
Monday March 13 Holi
Saturday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Tuesday April 04 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Sunday April 09 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Tuesday April 11 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only.
Friday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 10 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 07 Raksha Bandhan
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Tuesday August 15 Janmashtami
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Eid al-Adha
Friday September 29 Mahanavami Ninth Day of Dussehra
Saturday September 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 19 Deewali Maharashtra(Laxmi Pujan)
Friday October 20 Govardhan puja Uttar Pradesh
Saturday November 04 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Saturday December 02 Milad-un-Nabi
Monday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page