Social

Options

Advertisements

2014: Uttar Pradesh

India Public holidays of Uttar Pradesh in 2014

DayDateHolidayComments
Tuesday January 14 Milad-un-Nabi Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Sunday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 28 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Sunday March 16 Doljatra Holi Dahan. Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal only.
Monday March 17 Holi
Monday March 31 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only.
Tuesday April 08 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Sunday April 13 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Monday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Thursday May 01 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only
Tuesday May 13 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Wednesday May 14 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Tuesday July 29 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Kerala
Sunday August 10 Raksha Bandhan Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh only.
Friday August 15 Independence Day
Monday August 18 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Friday October 03 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Monday October 06 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Thursday October 23 Deewali Deepawali. Except Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal.
Tuesday November 04 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Thursday November 06 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Thursday December 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page

               
Powered by Google