Public Holidays in Tamil Nadu in 2015

Tamil Nadu Upcoming Public Holidays in Tamil Nadu

Ayudha Puja
Ayudha Puja

21 October 2015 This Regional holiday is in 11 days. The festival of Dussehra represents the legend of Rama and Ravana symbolizing the trium...


23 October 2015 This Regional holiday is in 13 days. Ashura is the 10th day of Muharram in the Islamic calendar and marks the climax of the ...


10 November 2015 This Regional holiday is in 31 days. Celebrations revolve around the triumph of good over evil, purity over impurity, light ...

India National and Regional Public holidays of Tamil Nadu in 2015

Thursday January 01 New Years Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu only
Sunday January 04 Id-e-Milad Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Telangana
Thursday January 15 Pongal Assam, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Telangana
Friday January 16 Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu only
Saturday January 17 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Monday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Thursday April 02 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 03 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Tuesday April 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Friday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Saturday July 18 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh
Thursday July 30 Public Holiday Tamil Nadu. Government only. Funeral of APJ Abdul Kalam
Saturday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 05 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday September 17 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Thursday September 24 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Friday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti.
Wednesday October 21 Ayudha Puja Assam, Karnataka, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal
Friday October 23 Muharram Tamil Nadu only
Tuesday November 10 Deewali Deepawali.
Thursday December 24 Id-e-Milad Birthday of Prophet Muhammad. Second time in 2015.
Friday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states


National Holiday
Regional Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page

Powered by Google