Social

Options

Advertisements


2019: punjab

punjab, India National public holidays of punjab, India in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Sunday February 10 Feb 10 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura, West Bengal
Tuesday February 19 Feb 19 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Full moon of Magh
Monday March 04 Mar 4 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 21 Mar 21 Holi
Saturday March 23 Mar 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab, Rajasthan only
Monday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Sunday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Apr 14 Vaisakhi Haryana, Punjab only
Sunday April 14 Apr 14 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Wednesday April 17 Apr 17 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 19 Apr 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 01 May 1 May Day Many states
Tuesday May 07 May 7 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh only
Friday May 24 May 24 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Wednesday June 05 Jun 5 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday June 17 Jun 17 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Wednesday July 31 Jul 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Haryana, Punjab only
Monday August 12 Aug 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Saturday August 24 Aug 24 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Saturday August 31 Aug 31 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Saturday September 07 Sep 7 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Punjab only
Thursday September 12 Sep 12 Saragarhi Day State holiday in Punjab
Saturday September 28 Sep 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Sunday September 29 Sep 29 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Wednesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 08 Oct 8 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 13 Oct 13 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Sunday October 27 Oct 27 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Monday October 28 Oct 28 Vishvakarma Day Day after Dewali
Tuesday November 12 Nov 12 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Sunday November 24 Nov 24 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Wednesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page