Social

Options

Advertisements


2019: assam

assam, India National public holidays of assam, India in 2019

DayDateHolidayComments
Monday January 14 Jan 14 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Wednesday January 23 Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Saturday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Thursday January 31 Jan 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Thursday March 21 Mar 21 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Monday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 13 Apr 13 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Sunday April 14 Apr 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
Friday April 19 Apr 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 01 May 1 May Day Many states
Sunday May 19 May 19 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Wednesday June 05 Jun 5 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 12 Aug 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Saturday August 24 Aug 24 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Wednesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday October 05 Oct 5 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Oct 6 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Oct 6 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Tuesday October 08 Oct 8 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 27 Oct 27 Deepavali Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura
Sunday October 27 Oct 27 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Saturday November 02 Nov 2 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Tuesday November 12 Nov 12 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Wednesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page