Social

Options

Advertisements


2018: punjab

punjab, India National public holidays of punjab, India in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Monday January 22 Jan 22 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura, West Bengal
Friday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Wednesday January 31 Jan 31 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Full moon of Magh
Tuesday February 13 Feb 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Friday March 02 Mar 2 Holi
Friday March 23 Mar 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab, Rajasthan only
Sunday March 25 Mar 25 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Thursday March 29 Mar 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Mar 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Vaisakhi Haryana, Punjab only
Wednesday April 18 Apr 18 Parashurama Jayanti Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh
Tuesday May 01 May 1 May Day Many states
Friday June 15 Jun 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Saturday June 16 Jun 16 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Thursday June 28 Jun 28 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Tuesday July 31 Jul 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Haryana, Punjab only
Wednesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Aug 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Saturday September 01 Sep 1 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Monday September 03 Sep 3 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 10 Sep 10 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Punjab only
Wednesday September 12 Sep 12 Saragarhi Day State holiday in Punjab
Friday September 28 Sep 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Tuesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 10 Oct 10 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 24 Oct 24 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deewali Many states
Thursday November 08 Nov 8 Vishvakarma Day Day after Dewali
Friday November 23 Nov 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Sunday December 16 Dec 16 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Tuesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page