Social

Options

Advertisements


2018: assam

assam, India National public holidays of assam, India in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 14 Jan 14 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Tuesday January 23 Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Friday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Wednesday January 31 Jan 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Thursday March 01 Mar 1 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Friday March 30 Mar 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Friday April 13 Apr 13 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Saturday April 14 Apr 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
Tuesday May 01 May 1 May Day Many states
Tuesday May 29 May 29 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Friday June 15 Jun 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Wednesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Aug 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Monday September 03 Sep 3 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 16 Oct 16 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Wednesday October 17 Oct 17 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Thursday October 18 Oct 18 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Friday October 19 Oct 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Deepavali Assam, Tamil Nadu, Tripura
Wednesday November 07 Nov 7 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Wednesday November 14 Nov 14 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Friday November 23 Nov 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Tuesday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page