Social

Options

Advertisements


2017: west_bengal

west_bengal, India National public holidays of west_bengal, India in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Thursday January 12 Jan 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only.
Monday January 23 Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Wednesday February 01 Feb 1 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha,Tripura, West Bengal only
Sunday March 12 Mar 12 Doljatra Holi Dahan. Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal only.
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Sunday April 09 Apr 9 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday April 15 Apr 15 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Monday May 01 May 1 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Tuesday May 09 May 9 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal. A Bengali polymath who reshaped literature and music.
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Many states
Tuesday September 19 Sep 19 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday September 27 Sep 27 Saptami of Durgapuja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Oct 1 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 05 Oct 5 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Kali Puja West Bengal only. Festival dedicated to the Hindu goddess Kali
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page