2017: punjab

punjab, India National public holidays of punjab, India in 2017

Thursday January 05 Jan 5 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Birthday of the tenth and final Sikh prophet-teacher
Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 10 Feb 10 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only
Monday March 13 Mar 13 Holi
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Tuesday April 04 Apr 4 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Sunday April 09 Apr 9 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday June 09 Jun 9 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Friday June 16 Jun 16 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Tamil Nadu, Sikkim.
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 05 Oct 5 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Punjab.
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Deewali Deepawali. Except West Bengal.
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Second time in 2017
Tuesday December 26 Dec 26 Shaheed Udham Singh's Birthday Haryana, Punjab only


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years

Translate this page