Social

Options

Advertisements


2017: odisha

odisha, India National public holidays of odisha, India in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Monday January 23 Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Wednesday February 01 Feb 1 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha,Tripura, West Bengal only
Friday February 24 Feb 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Sunday March 12 Mar 12 Doljatra Holi Dahan. Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal only.
Monday March 13 Mar 13 Holi
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Odisha Day Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Tuesday April 04 Apr 4 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Thursday June 15 Jun 15 Raja Sankranti Odisha only
Sunday June 25 Jun 25 Ratha Yatra Odisha
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 14 Aug 14 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Friday August 25 Aug 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday August 26 Aug 26 Nuakhai Odisha only. Harvest Festival. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Many states
Tuesday September 19 Sep 19 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday September 27 Sep 27 Saptami of Durgapuja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only
Thursday September 28 Sep 28 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim only
Friday September 29 Sep 29 Mahanavami Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Vijaya Dashami Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu. Dussehra
Sunday October 01 Oct 1 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 05 Oct 5 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Deewali Deepawali
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Rasa Purnima Odisha only
Friday December 01 Dec 1 Milad-un-Nabi
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page