Social

Options

Advertisements


2017: maharashtra

maharashtra, India National public holidays of maharashtra, India in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Sunday February 19 Feb 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Friday February 24 Feb 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Monday March 13 Mar 13 Holi
Tuesday March 28 Mar 28 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only.
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Tuesday April 04 Apr 4 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Sunday April 09 Apr 9 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday May 01 May 1 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Wednesday May 10 May 10 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Thursday August 17 Aug 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Mumbai Only
Friday August 25 Aug 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Many states
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Oct 1 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 19 Oct 19 Deewali Maharashtra. Laxmi Pujan
Friday October 20 Oct 20 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Friday December 01 Dec 1 Milad-un-Nabi
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page