2017: kerala

kerala, India National public holidays of kerala, India in 2017

Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 24 Feb 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Vishu Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Monday May 01 May 1 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh
Sunday July 23 Jul 23 Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Tamil Nadu, Sikkim.
Monday September 04 Sep 4 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Tuesday September 05 Sep 5 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Thursday September 21 Sep 21 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Friday September 29 Sep 29 Mahanavami Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Vijaya Dashami Kerala, Odisha, Sikkim only. Dussehra
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Deewali Deepawali. Except West Bengal.
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Saturday December 02 Dec 2 Milad-un-Nabi


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years

Translate this page