Social

Options

Advertisements


2017: gujarat

gujarat, India National public holidays of gujarat, India in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 14 Jan 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 24 Feb 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Monday March 13 Mar 13 Holi
Tuesday March 28 Mar 28 Cheti Chand Gujarat only.
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Tuesday April 04 Apr 4 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Sunday April 09 Apr 9 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 28 Apr 28 Parashurama Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh only
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 07 Aug 7 Raksha Bandhan
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Janmashtami
Thursday August 17 Aug 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz
Friday August 25 Aug 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Eid al-Adha
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Oct 1 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 19 Oct 19 Deewali Maharashtra(Laxmi Pujan)
Friday October 20 Oct 20 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Saturday October 21 Oct 21 Bhai Bij Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Saturday December 02 Dec 2 Milad-un-Nabi
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page