2017: goa

goa, India National public holidays of goa, India in 2017

Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Monday March 13 Mar 13 Holi
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Sunday April 09 Apr 9 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday May 01 May 1 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Friday August 25 Aug 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Tamil Nadu, Sikkim.
Saturday September 30 Sep 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Deewali Deepawali. Except West Bengal.
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Sunday December 03 Dec 3 Feast of St Francis Xavier Goa only.
Tuesday December 19 Dec 19 Goa Liberation Day Goa only


National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years

Translate this page