Social

Options

Advertisements


2017: assam

assam, India National public holidays of assam, India in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 14 Jan 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Monday January 23 Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Thursday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday January 31 Jan 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Monday March 13 Mar 13 Holi
Saturday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 14 Apr 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year
Saturday April 15 Apr 15 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Sunday April 16 Apr 16 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Monday May 01 May 1 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Wednesday May 10 May 10 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Monday June 26 Jun 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Tuesday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 02 Sep 2 Idul Juha Many states
Sunday October 01 Oct 1 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Deewali Deepawali
Wednesday October 18 Oct 18 Kati Bihu Assam only
Saturday November 04 Nov 4 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Monday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page