Social

Options

Advertisements


2016: himachal_pradesh

himachal_pradesh, India National public holidays of himachal_pradesh, India in 2016

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 16 Jan 16 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan. Birthday of the final Sikh prophet-teacher
Monday January 25 Jan 25 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Tuesday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Monday February 22 Feb 22 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only
Monday March 07 Mar 7 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 24 Mar 24 Holi
Friday March 25 Mar 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 01 Apr 1 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Thursday April 14 Apr 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 15 Apr 15 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Friday April 15 Apr 15 Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh only. The province of Himachal Pradesh was created on 15 April 1948
Sunday May 08 May 8 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh only
Saturday May 21 May 21 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Tuesday June 07 Jun 7 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh only
Monday June 20 Jun 20 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Wednesday July 06 Jul 6 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Thursday August 25 Aug 25 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 12 Sep 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Gujarat, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Sikkim.
Sunday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 11 Oct 11 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 12 Oct 12 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Sunday October 16 Oct 16 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Sunday October 30 Oct 30 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Goa, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Monday November 14 Nov 14 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page