Social

Options

Advertisements


2014: assam

assam, India National public holidays of assam, India in 2014

DayDateHolidayComments
Tuesday January 14 Jan 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 23 Jan 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Sunday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Monday March 17 Mar 17 Holi
Monday April 07 Apr 7 Public Holiday Assam only. First phase of Lok Sabha elections
Sunday April 13 Apr 13 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 18 Apr 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Thursday May 01 May 1 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Wednesday May 14 May 14 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Tuesday July 29 Jul 29 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand
Friday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Thursday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Friday October 03 Oct 3 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Monday October 06 Oct 6 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Thursday October 23 Oct 23 Deewali Deepawali. Except Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal.
Thursday November 06 Nov 6 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik

Key

National Holiday
Regional Holiday
Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Other Years


Translate this page