Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Punjab in 2018

India National and Regional Public holidays of Punjab in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Monday January 22 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura, West Bengal
Friday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 01 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Full moon of Magh
Friday March 02 Holi
Friday March 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab, Rajasthan only
Thursday March 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Saturday April 14 Vaisakhi Haryana, Punjab only
Wednesday April 18 Parashurama Jayanti Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh only
Wednesday April 25 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Tuesday May 01 May Day Many states
Friday June 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Saturday June 16 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Thursday June 28 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Tuesday July 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Haryana, Punjab only
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Saturday September 01 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Monday September 03 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 10 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Punjab only
Wednesday September 12 Saragarhi Day State holiday in Punjab
Friday September 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 10 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Friday October 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 24 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Wednesday November 07 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Thursday November 08 Vishavkarma day Day after Dewali
Friday November 23 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Sunday December 16 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page