Public Holidays in Punjab in 2016

Punjab Upcoming Public Holidays in Punjab


30 October 2016 This Regional holiday is in 7 days. Celebrations revolve around the triumph of good over evil, purity over impurity, light ...

Vishavkarma day
Vishavkarma day

31 October 2016 This Regional holiday is in 8 days. Punjab, Rajasthan. Vishwakarma Puja is a day of celebration for Vishwakarma, a Hindu go...

Guru Nanak Birthday
Guru Nanak Birthday

14 November 2016 This Regional holiday is in 22 days. The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the...

India National and Regional Public holidays of Punjab in 2016

Saturday January 16 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan. Birthday of the final Sikh prophet-teacher
Tuesday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Thursday January 28 Birthday of Lala Lajpat Rai 150th year anniversary
Friday February 12 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura
Monday February 22 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only
Monday March 07 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday March 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab, Rajasthan only
Thursday March 24 Holi
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Wednesday April 13 Vaisakhi Haryana, Punjab only
Thursday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 15 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Tuesday April 19 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Sunday May 01 May Day Many states
Monday May 09 Parashurama Jayanti Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh only
Wednesday June 08 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Monday June 20 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Thursday July 07 Ramzan Many states
Sunday July 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Punjab only
Monday August 15 Independence Day
Thursday August 25 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Friday September 02 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Saturday September 10 Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Punjab only
Monday September 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Gujarat, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Sikkim.
Wednesday September 28 Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji Punjab only
Saturday October 01 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Sunday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 11 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 16 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Monday October 17 Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Ram Dass Ji Punjab only
Sunday October 30 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Goa, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Monday October 31 Vishavkarma day Punjab, Rajasthan
Monday November 14 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Sunday December 04 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page