Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Maharashtra in 2016

Maharashtra Upcoming Public Holidays in Maharashtra

Id-e-Milad
Id-e-Milad

12 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 8 days. Celebrated by Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third month of...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 21 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

Republic Day
Republic Day

26 January 2017 This National holiday is in 53 days. Republic Day is an important national holiday that commemorates the establishment of th...

India National and Regional Public holidays of Maharashtra in 2016

DayDateHolidayComments
Tuesday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Monday March 07 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 24 Holi
Friday March 25 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Friday April 08 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year
Thursday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 15 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Tuesday April 19 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Sunday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Saturday May 21 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Thursday July 07 Ramzan Many states
Monday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Gujarat, Mumbai Only
Monday September 05 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 13 Bakrid Gujurat, Maharashtra, Odisha, Telangana, Tamil Nadu
Sunday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 11 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 12 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Sunday October 30 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Goa, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Monday October 31 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Monday November 14 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Monday December 12 Id-e-Milad
Sunday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page