Public Holidays in Maharashtra in 2017

India National and Regional Public holidays of Maharashtra in 2017

Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Sunday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Friday February 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Monday March 13 Holi
Tuesday March 28 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only.
Saturday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Tuesday April 04 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Sunday April 09 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Wednesday May 10 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Thursday August 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Mumbai Only
Friday August 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Tamil Nadu, Sikkim.
Saturday September 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Deewali Deepawali. Except West Bengal.
Saturday November 04 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Saturday December 02 Milad-un-Nabi


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page