Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Kerala in 2015

India National and Regional Public holidays of Kerala in 2015

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 03 Milad-un-Nabi Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Monday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 17 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Friday April 03 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Wednesday April 15 Vishu Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Friday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Saturday July 18 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh
Saturday August 15 Independence Day
Thursday August 27 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Friday August 28 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Monday September 21 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Thursday September 24 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Friday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti.
Thursday October 22 Mahanavami Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Friday October 23 Vijaya Dashami Assam, Kerala, Odisha, Sikkim. Dussehra
Tuesday November 10 Deewali Deepawali.
Wednesday November 25 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Thursday December 24 Id-e-Milad Birthday of Prophet Muhammad. Second time in 2015.
Friday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page