Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Karnataka in 2017

Karnataka Upcoming Public Holidays in Karnataka

Basava Jayanthi
Basava Jayanthi

29 April 2017 This Regional holiday is in 2 days. Karnataka. Marks the birthday of Basavanna, the founding saint of the Lingayat religion

May Day
May Day

1 May 2017 This Regional holiday is in 4 days. This holiday is most commonly associated as a commemoration of the achievements of the ...

Idul Fitr
Idul Fitr

26 June 2017 This Regional holiday is in 60 days. Marks the end of the fasting period of the Islamic month of Ramadan

India National and Regional Public holidays of Karnataka in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Saturday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Wednesday March 29 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
Saturday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Sunday April 09 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday April 29 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats.
Monday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal only
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Eid al-Adha
Tuesday September 19 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Friday September 29 Mahanavami Ninth Day of Dussehra
Saturday September 30 Vijaya Dashami Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu. Dussehra
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Thursday October 05 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Punjab.
Wednesday October 18 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Friday October 20 Deepavali Karnataka, Maharashtra
Wednesday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Monday November 06 Kanakadasa Jayanthi Karnataka only
Friday December 01 Milad-un-Nabi
Monday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page