Social

Options

Advertisements

Public Holidays in Karnataka in 2018

Karnataka Upcoming Public Holidays in Karnataka

Milad-un-Nabi
Maulud Nabi

1 December 2017 This Regional holiday is in 10 days. Celebrated by Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third month of...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2017 This Regional holiday is in 34 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus, the date which according to tradition took pl...

Sankranti
Sankranti

15 January 2018 This Regional holiday is in 55 days. Karnataka. A harvest festival marking the start of spring.

India National and Regional Public holidays of Karnataka in 2018

DayDateHolidayComments
Monday January 15 Sankranti Karnataka
Friday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 13 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 29 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Wednesday April 18 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats. 3rd Vaiskha
Tuesday May 01 May Day Many states
Saturday June 16 Idul Fitr Several states
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday September 13 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Friday September 21 Muharram Many states
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Monday October 08 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Thursday October 18 Ayudha Puja Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Friday October 19 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Wednesday October 24 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab
Thursday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Tuesday November 06 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Thursday November 08 Balipadyami Karnataka
Wednesday November 21 Id-e-Milad
Monday November 26 Kanakadasa Jayanthi Karnataka only
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page