Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Himachal Pradesh in 2015

India National and Regional Public holidays of Himachal Pradesh in 2015

DayDateHolidayComments
Sunday January 25 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Monday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Tuesday February 03 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only
Tuesday February 17 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Friday March 06 Holi
Saturday March 28 Ram Navami Celebrates the birth of Lord Rama to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya
Friday April 03 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Wednesday April 15 Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh only. The province of Himachal Pradesh was created on 15 April 1948
Monday April 20 Parashurama Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only
Monday May 04 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Wednesday May 20 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan
Tuesday June 02 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Saturday July 18 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh
Saturday August 15 Independence Day
Saturday September 05 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Friday September 25 Idul Juha Bakrid. Assam, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra
Friday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti.
Thursday October 22 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami.
Saturday October 24 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Tuesday October 27 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Punjab.
Wednesday November 11 Deewali Deepawali. Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Telangana
Wednesday November 25 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Friday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page