Public Holidays in Goa in 2015

India National and Regional Public holidays of Goa in 2015

Monday January 26 Jan 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday March 06 Mar 6 Holi
Wednesday March 18 Mar 18 Public Holiday Goa. Polling day for zilla panchayat elections
Thursday April 02 Apr 2 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 03 Apr 3 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Friday May 01 May 1 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Saturday August 15 Aug 15 Independence Day
Thursday September 17 Sep 17 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Thursday September 24 Sep 24 Idul Juha Bakrid.
Friday October 02 Oct 2 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti.
Thursday October 22 Oct 22 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami.
Tuesday November 10 Nov 10 Deewali Deepawali.
Wednesday November 25 Nov 25 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of Guru Nanak Sahib, the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Friday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states


National Holiday Regional Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page