Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Andhra Pradesh in 2017

Andhra Pradesh Upcoming Public Holidays in Andhra Pradesh

Id-e-Milad
Id-e-Milad

12 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 5 days. Celebrated by Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third month of...

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This Regional holiday is in 18 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

Bhogi
Bhogi

13 January 2017 This Regional holiday is in 37 days. Bhogi is the first day of the three day celebration of Sankranti

India National and Regional Public holidays of Andhra Pradesh in 2017

DayDateHolidayComments
Friday January 13 Bhogi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
Saturday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Tuesday March 28 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only.
Saturday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Wednesday April 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Andhra Pradesh, Telangana only
Sunday April 09 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Many states
Saturday September 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Deewali Deepawali
Friday December 01 Milad-un-Nabi
Monday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states

Key

National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday

Notes

  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page