Public Holidays in Andhra Pradesh in 2017

India National and Regional Public holidays of Andhra Pradesh in 2017

Friday January 13 Bhogi Andhra Pradesh Only
Saturday January 14 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday February 24 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Tuesday March 28 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh only.
Saturday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Wednesday April 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Andhra Pradesh, Telangana only
Sunday April 09 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr All states except Goa, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Bakrid. Except Tamil Nadu, Sikkim.
Saturday September 30 Dussehra Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Deewali Deepawali. Except West Bengal.
Saturday December 02 Milad-un-Nabi


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • Only the secular holidays of Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday are observed nationally.
  • Public holidays in India tend to be observed on a strictly regional basis. The above dates are Government of India holidays, when government offices will be closed nationwide. In addition, there are numerous festivals and fairs which are also observed in some states as holidays, the dates of which change from year to year.
  • Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are the latest known dates.
  • Although not government official holidays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day are observed nationally.

Translate this page