New Year's Eve

Holiday observed in several countries

New years Day

Who is off on New Year's Eve 2016?

Thailand Thailand
Latvia Latvia
Philippines Philippines
Sweden Sweden
Venezuela Venezuela
El Salvador El Salvador
Macau Macau
Armenia Armenia
Paraguay Paraguay

New Year's Eve is the last day of the year, in the Gregorian calendar.

Countries who still use the Julian Calendar observe New Year's Eve on January 13th.

It is traditionally celebrated with firework displays across the globe at 00:00 in the local time zones.

New Year's Day was fixed at January 1st in 153 BCE, when the two Roman consuls, after whom - in the Roman calendar - years were named and numbered, chosen that date, mainly for military reasons.

During the Middle Ages, a number of different Christian feast dates were used to mark the New Year, though calendars often continued to display the months in columns running from January to December in the Roman fashion.

Most countries in Western Europe had officially adopted January 1st as New Year's Day even before they adopted the Gregorian calendar. This was called Circumcision Style, because it was the date of the 'Feast of the Circumcision', which occured on the eighth day after Christmas Day, and is said to have been the day when Christ was circumcised.

New Year's eve is also the time to make New Year's resolutions, which one hopes to fulfill or abide by in the coming Year; such as stop smoking or drinking alcohol, or lose weight or get physically fit.

Related holidays

Translate this page