Statutory Holidays in Canada in 2014

Canada List of National and regional statutory holidays of Canada in 2014

Day Date Holiday Comments
Wednesday January 01 Jan 1 New Years Day Statutory. Also January 2 in Quebec.
Thursday January 02 Jan 2 Day after New Years Day Quebec only.
Monday February 10 Feb 10 Family Day Statutory holiday in British Columbia
Monday February 17 Feb 17 Family Day 3rd Monday in February. Statutory holiday in Alberta, Ontario, and Saskatchewan. Known as Islander Day in Prince Edward Island.
Friday April 18 Apr 18 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday. Statutory, except in Quebec where Easter Monday is statutory.
Monday April 21 Apr 21 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday. Quebec Only
Sunday May 11 May 11 Mother's Day Not a public holiday. 2nd Sunday in May.
Monday May 19 May 19 Victoria Day Monday on or before May 24. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.
Monday May 19 May 19 National Patriots Day Quebec only. Commemoration of the Lower Canada Rebellion in 1837
Sunday June 15 Jun 15 Father's Day Third Sunday in June. Not a National Holiday
Monday June 23 Jun 23 Discovery Day Monday nearest June 24th. Newfoundland and Labrador only.
Tuesday June 24 Jun 24 The National Holiday of Quebec Quebec only.
Tuesday July 01 Jul 1 Canada Day Observed on July 1 or on July 2, if July 1 is a Sunday
Monday August 04 Aug 4 Civic Day First Monday in August
Monday August 18 Aug 18 Discovery Day Monday nearest August 17th. Yukon only.
Monday September 01 Sep 1 Labour Day First Monday in September
Monday October 13 Oct 13 Thanksgiving Second Monday in October. Statutory, except in New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.
Tuesday November 11 Nov 11 Remembrance Day Statutory holiday everywhere except Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, and Nova Scotia.
Thursday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day
Friday December 26 Dec 26 Boxing Day Statutory in Ontario and federal jurisdictions.


National Holiday Regional Holiday Not a Public Holiday


  • In Canada, public holidays are known as statutory holidays

Translate this page