Social

Options

Advertisements


Public Holidays in Bangladesh in 2016

Bangladesh Upcoming Holidays in Bangladesh

Eid e-Milad-un Nabi
Maulud Nabi

13 December 2016 This National holiday is in 4 days. Celebrated by Muslims on the twelfth day of the month of Rabiulawal, the third month of...

Victory Day
Victory Day

16 December 2016 This National holiday is in 7 days. Commemorates the surrender of the Pakistani army to the Mukti Bahini

Christmas Day
Christmas Day

25 December 2016 This National holiday is in 16 days. The day celebrates the Nativity of Jesus which (traditionally, but unlikely in reality)...

Bangladesh List of National Public holidays of Bangladesh in 2016

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday February 21 Feb 21 Language Martyrs' Day International Mother Language Day
Thursday March 17 Mar 17 Sheikh Mujibur Rahman's birthday Father of Nation of Bangladesh
Saturday March 26 Mar 26 Independence Day Independence from Pakistan in 1971
Thursday April 14 Apr 14 Bengali New Year Festival marking the start of the Bengali year
Saturday April 23 Apr 23 Public Holiday Union Parishad (UP) polls
Sunday May 01 May 1 May Day International Labour Day
Saturday May 07 May 7 Public Holiday Union Parishad (UP) polls
Saturday May 21 May 21 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
Sunday May 22 May 22 Shab e-Barat Night of Records. Celebrated on the 15th Sha'aban
Friday July 01 Jul 1 Jumatul Bidah Last Friday of the month of Ramadan
Sunday July 03 Jul 3 Night of Destiny Celebrated on the 27th day of Ramadan
Monday July 04 Jul 4 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Tuesday July 05 Jul 5 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Wednesday July 06 Jul 6 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Thursday July 07 Jul 7 Eid ul-Fitr End of Ramadan
Monday August 15 Aug 15 National Mourning Day Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and his family were killed in 1975
Thursday August 25 Aug 25 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Sunday September 11 Sep 11 Eid Al Adha Holiday Public sector. Compensated by September 24
Monday September 12 Sep 12 Eid ul-Adha Holiday Date varies on Lunar cycle
Tuesday September 13 Sep 13 Eid ul-Adha Date varies on Lunar cycle
Wednesday September 14 Sep 14 Eid ul-Adha Day 2 Date varies on Lunar cycle
Tuesday October 11 Oct 11 Durga Puja
Wednesday October 12 Oct 12 Ashura 10th day of Muharram
Tuesday December 13 Dec 13 Eid e-Milad-un Nabi
Friday December 16 Dec 16 Victory Day Commemorates the surrender of the Pakistani army to the Mukti Bahini
Sunday December 25 Dec 25 Christmas Day

Key

National Holiday Government/Public Sector

Notes

  • Friday and Saturday are weekends

Public Holiday News

Translate this page